Press Release: Bonefish Unveils Highly Anticipated Third Album “Where do we belong” Blending Americana and Britpop to Perfection

May 14, 2023

On their 3rd full length album “Where do we belong” Bonefish takes their Americana/Britpop mix a step further into perfection. The album is produced by Max Lorentz, who also produced the critically acclaimed previous album “Atoms”.

Eleven new compositions, such as NOLA tribute “New Orleans (I Will Dance When I Get There)” and “Sad”, with lead vocals by Bie Karlsson and Nylle Thoor respectively. Bie and Nylle usually share the lead vocals between them, but this time Rasmus Rasmusson, from the back of his drum kit, fronts the sensitive ballad “Friend of mine”. Of course, the album also has an abundance of magnificent guitar work by Matte Norberg, not to mention the keyboard splendidness by the omnipresent master musician and producer Max Lorentz.

The album is released on LP, CD and digital platforms on Friday 19th of May.


Bonefish was formed in 2010 by Bie Karlsson (Guitar), Lasse Nilsen (Guitar), Rasmus Rasmusson (Drums) and Anders Nylle Thoor (Bass). As all in the band were excellent singers, it was perhaps natural it started off with a lot of Americana inspired harmonics, mixed with Blues Rock aspirations. Listen in on self-titled debut album “Bonefish” from 2013 (link below), produced by Bie Karlsson. The album was met with good reviews and the band made a lot of gigs during 2013 and 2014, playing UK and Belgium, as well as numerous occasions in Sweden.

Late in 2015 Lasse Nilsen left the band and was replaced by Matte Norberg and, as a consequence of Matte’s superb guitar playing, Bonefish tilted against a more guitar driven sound.  The harmonics is still in place, but less dominant. This new brand of Bonefish can be heard in the 2017 album “Atoms”, recorded in legendary Welsh studio Rockfield and now with Max Lorentz producing. The album was critically acclaimed and got airtime in German national radio. This led to extensive touring in Germany, Belgium and The Netherlands during 2018 and 2019.

Then we all know what happened next. After only one (1) gig in 2020 “All died and left no trace” to quote from the song “Just Like a Warrior” from the new Bonefish album. The supposed release of 2021 had to wait to 2023. But now it’s here! “Where do we belong”, the third Bonefish album, for sale in physical format at your local record dealer, or at your digital distributor of choice. Release date 19th of May.

Bonefish is an Americana-influenced pop/rock band from Stockholm that consists of:

Bie Karlsson, vocals, guitar, songwriter:
As an artist, Bie has been active since the late 70s and has played everything from punk and hard rock to ska and pop. He has recorded and toured with bands such as Docenterna, Giant Steppers, T-shirts.

Matte Norberg, Lead guitar, vocals.
The excellent guitar playing of Matte is one of the musical highlights of the album. Coming from a small town in northern Sweden he had the choice between music and ice hockey. We are all very happy his choice was to spend all his awake time practicing on his guitar. (And rumor has it: some of his sleep time too.)

Rasmus Rasmusson, Drums:
The multi-musical Rasmus is the one who keeps the beat in Bonefish. Drums are his favorite instrument, but he is also well known as a bass player in several Stockholm bands.

Nylle Thoor, Bass guitar, vocals:
Nylle is perhaps the band’s greatest musical talent. He mainly plays bass but also keyboards and is a fantastically talented singer.